Braving a Budget

You’re on cloud-9 with happiness, thoughts of getting married and love. The last thing you want to think of is money. Well, in all honesty, it’s the first thing you should think of. Sad, maybe in some circumstances; indifferent in others; and down-right scared too. I hated it. I hated thinking of the inevitable. How was I supposed to know what I wanted to spend, what I could spend and what I should spend?

I did some googling of average costs of weddings.. and it threw me even further out to sea. The average weddings range from $20,000 to $35,000! Seriously? Where’s my tool to enter an annual income, number of months to save and location to compute and spit out an actual number that not only was I comfortable with but somewhat understood why it was that much. Well, there isn’t one. Maybe I’ll become rich if I took the time to invent that… probably not.

Deciding on a budget might as well have been done by throwing a dart at a dart board. I had no idea what I wanted to spend or even what I could afford to spend. So, what I’m saying is I am no help in how to decide your number. Good luck.

What I am here to do is to tell you – just do it! Once you have a final number, accept it as a challenge. Accept it as a challenge to save that amount in a given amount of time, to spend under that amount  and to find the best deals possible.

This entry was posted in Wedding Planning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Braving a Budget

  1. My Delicious Life says:

    Setting a budget was the first thing we did. I am still amazed at the average costs of a wedding. Mine is at $4,000 and I don’t even like it that high!

Leave a Reply

