Pearocking.

(c) national geographic

As a child, I believed in peacocks. I actually liked peacocks. Like most children, I loved the idea of beauty, fanciness and elegance. I mean, between the unicorn, peacock and flamingo, I could hardly pick a favorite. Could you? Unicorns were shiny, Rainbow Brite’s best friend and all, well glittery perfect! Peacocks had tails of finesse, big and gorgeous and always at up-right attention – or so I thought until my field-trip to the zoo squandered the idealistic peacock tail of elegance. And the flamingo – a family favorite, symbol of hot, tropical locations; pink! Thank the zoo again for an abrupt dismissal of pure glorydome.

Nonetheless, my fantasies lived on. I continued to like the peacock, tails, until it faded somewhere in childhood. The flamingo lived on as a family favorite, Las Vegas mirage and staple lawn ornament at my grandmother’s house. Flamingos, yes, I may still be partial. Unicorns, I was over as my phase of Rainbow Bright wadded and Full House emerged. Unicorns are great, but they are so not the Olsen Twins!

So, of all three, the flamingo has won over many hearts in my life. Perhaps it’s now my favorite; however, I’m not about a Flamingo wedding. Interesting, yes. Unique, definitely. Weird, that’s more like it. I’m not about creating worst-wedding experiences. I will leave the Flamingo wedding to my next in-kin; I do have 19 cousins that may or may not like the color pink. It’s all yours cuzes; no need to thank me.

Peacock? Where did peacock come into the picture, I’m wondering the same thing. Since when did I become trendy? Oh wait, peacock is so 2011. Come November of the new year we are amongst, for all I know it will be the craze come fall wedding time. Bah! As for my choice of theme, color, style, etc. I had no inkling of what I might like. Okay, maybe I had but not being the first-out-of-the-gate my choices were a bit limited. I wanted something fresh, something new; something no one had done – yet.

Again, I ask the same question, peacock? I wouldn’t say peacock is my theme or style. I am even having a hard time calling it my color. Pearockin is more friendly and self-accepted. As an instapration turned into a color choice, I sought out dress colors and there it was: peacock. It was at the bridal shows, pinterest; it was everywhere I looked. Serious? I don’t want peacock feathers – psh, how fad, 100% not me. It did threaten to deter my choice. But… I’m coming to terms with the lonely feather. I may or may not have it incorporated in – just a tad.

Well, as Pier 1 caught my attention, yet again, this jargon stopped me in my tracks:

A group of peacocks is called a muster or ostentation. A group of glittered indigo peacock sparays is called ‘fabulous’. Any questions? – Pier 1

So fitting, right? Fabulous – that my wedding will be. Well, it’s intrigued me and I’ve done a little research on peacocks.. I’m not so sure what I think. But I will share some interesting facts I found on National Geographic:

While the term “peacock” is commonly used to refer to birds of both sexes; technically, only males are peacocks. Females are pehens. Together, they are called peafowl. Peafowl? I might like peacock a little more now. So, my wedding is male dominant; all about the groom? I think not!

The large train of feathers is used in mating rituals and courtship displays. And what are weddings, but courtships and mating rituals. Now there, is a slight correlation.

Wild peafowl often roost in forest trees and gather in groups called parties. My wedding is THE party of the year.

Wild birds can be testy and do not mix well with other domestic birds. Good, so all you flamingos, toucans and unicorns (although not a bird, but surely to be a wedding theme come space-age) stay to yourself.

Peacock is not a welcomed word in my vocabulary. Pearocking is preferred. Whether it’s the color of the dress, the design on the templates or the theme of the big shabang. Don’t mind me, I’ll be Pearocking my wedding.

This entry was posted in Wedding Planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

