Staying on Budget

Staying on budget is hard to do. Hello, look at America. How many people are in debt? How much money is spent on what exactly? Oh, you know. That roadwork sitting on the side of the highway.. yep. With gas nearing $4 a gallon, food prices increasing and clothing a near arm, living on a budget is hard to do. Now, why not throw in a wedding, right? Oh yea, why not!

While money is not the friendliest to look in the eye, I was fortunate enough to Brave a Budget early on. Sure, it was a bit of shell-shock, a downer and threat to my presence on Cloud 9; however, I wouldn’t be where I am now, if I wasn’t strong enough to face my budget straight away. While the average cost of a wedding can range based on geographic region, heritage, family and personality, I’ve been able to find my budget that I am comfortable with and that is realistic.

Sure, I’ve had my freak-outs – Financial Woes – and times of doubt. But I’m happy to say I am at a comfortable place now. While we are sitting just 5% away from hitting our targeted saved budget amount. Let’s raise those glasses now – coffee, milk, adult beverage – whatever your drink of choice and cheers to that. After being engaged for 6 months, we are  within walking distance to the end of the tunnel. Hallelujah!

I’m not going to lie – it’s been somewhat easy. However, a large part of that is due to my extraordinary planning skills, outside-the-box thinking and thought-out decisions. At times I’m not quite sure how I’ve gotten to be so close to the final goal. But what I do know is that I couldn’t have done it without the strength and support of family, friends & My Lord Jesus Christ.

I live at home. I am beyond blessed to have a family who’ll take me under their roof – and have the space to keep me and all of my, well, treasured belongings. My parents have blessed me with an opportunity that I took for granite in past and now cannot thank enough. And, they’ve been kind enough to let my two fur-balls run wild, attack the house with fur and constantly beg for food. Now that my friends is another blessing in and of it self. Amen, amen.

Research. Research was never my strong suite, some how, some way I managed to make it through grad school. However, come wedding, research has been my hobby. Hard work pays off.

Sacrifice. I’ve lived a life of luxury – traveling multiple times a year, Coach purses and shopping sprees. Sometimes, it’s time to take a step back and think about your priorities and realities. I want what is best for me and my fiance and while we both are blessed with living at home, we need to make the most of it while we have it and plan for the future. So what, I don’t get Starbucks drinks, shop Target every week or been on a trip in over a year. Am I happy? Yes.

While budgets can be scary and at times an enemy, it doesn’t have to be. If you do it right, take the time to plan in detail and sacrifice a little here and there, you’re going to make it. And while leaving that super chic dress on the rack may be disappointing at the time – knowing I will have my wedding paid in full come June – I couldn’t be any happier. Throw a cold one on ice, I’ll be ready for it and yes, this my friends I will take pride in.

 

This entry was posted in Chalk it up to Experience, Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Staying on Budget

  1. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Leave a Reply

