Music to my ears

I returned from a work potluck to find seven missed calls on my phone. Seven?! Yes, seven. The culprit? Z. Immediately my heart dropped. Any consecutive call from the same person within a short amount of time is never a good sign. And, with all the ish we are dealing with, seven missed calls was grounds for something not-so-happy.

Did you call me.. seven times?”

“Yeah.. ”

“Well, OK… what’s up?”

“I was freaking out… I was calling you because you always seem to know what to do”

“..because you always seem to know what to do”

Sure, I could be angry at him for calling me seven times because we was freaking out over a minor issue. I could be frustrated that he didn’t learn his lesson from last time. I could have went off on him for nearly giving me a heart attack and for giving me more to worry about and coach him on. But, I wasn’t. One deep breathe and instantly, his music to my ears suddenly became my music to his ears.

credit: Joelle Anthony

I wouldn’t say I have answers to all of our problems we face; however, knowing that you think I do makes me feel as thought the power of the world is in my hands.  Thank you for showing me a new depth of our love – confidence and trusting that when one of us has lost our path, the other will know how to lead you back.

Take my hand. We’ll make it, together.

This entry was posted in l0SER l0VE lEttERS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

