Loser Playlist: God Gave Me You

In A to Z land, music has meant more than simple background noise, silly songs or just the next top hit. Music has played a special role in our relationship from the very first song –  and still our song – With You. From mix tapes, to silly made up lyrics and singing battle wards, music is a welcomed third party in our relationship.

And now we have to choose one song for our first dance? One song that we will remember forever. One song to represent us, our love and our wedding. My parents were smart when they choice Kool and the Gang’s Celebration – life has been a celebration ever since. Can we just choose that one?

I know that with patience, a keen ear and a lot of thought, we will find our perfect song. Today, Blake Shelton’s God Gave Me You stopped me in my tracks and spoke to me. Instantly, I pictured myself floating across the dance floor in Z’s arms. My lips curled up and my heart smiled. While My Love is still a contender, this one…  Now this one could be the winner.

“God Gave Me You”

I’ve been a walking heartache
I’ve made a mess of me
The person that I’ve been lately
Ain’t who I wanna be

But you stay here right beside me
And watch as the storm blows through

And I need you

Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs

God gave me you for the days of doubt And for when I think I lost my way

There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you
Gave me you

There’s more here than what we’re seeing
A divine conspiracy That you, an angel
Could somehow fall for me You’ll always be
love’s great martyr And I’ll be the flattered fool.  And I need you
Yeah!

God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you

On my own I’m only
Half of what I could be
I can’t do without you
We are stitched together
And what love has tethered
I pray we never undo

Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you, gave me you.
He gave me you.

This entry was posted in l0SER l0VE lEttERS, Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

