We’re egaged: One year later

Carving our initials + date into the Lake Calhoun dock.

Wow. A lot has happened in the matter of a year. Let alone a year since he put a ring on it – as the oh, so fabulous Miss Beyonce says:

Cuz if you liked it then you should have put a ring on it
If you liked it then you shoulda put a ring on it
Don’t be mad once you see that he want it
If you liked it then you shoulda put a ring on it

woo oh ooh oh oh ooh oh oh ooh oh oh oh 2x

And, since it is stuck in your head, go ahead and watch the video. Do it.

And now, where was I? Oh yes. One year ago, today. My life changed for the better. The day every girl dreams of, the day that her fairytale dreams of white chiffon… cut the crap! Sure, we all think about it, but seriously? I’m not sure about you but this girl did not dream up her fairytale wedding form the time she was a little girl. I’m sorry; I was too busy living life. And if I can say one thing about expectations – I certainly underestimated my man’s ability to ask me to marry him in a 1000% Ashified way. I could have done without the heat/sweat rash, maybe I would have worn a cuter dress, and done my hair. But I didn’t. And that’s just fine. Why? Because that is me. That is us.

It’s hard to believe it’s been a year. Seriously, where has the time gone? Sure, life has thrown me in umpteen directions. But at some point I thought that it would slow down. It hasn’t. And, let me guess, it won’t, right? There are lessons to share from a bride-to-be in three months, one day – or 93 days. But who’s counting?

Some things stand out more than others. A few things I wish I could erase from my memory and others have slipped by and slide into place so fast, I’m really not quite sure what or how it happened. Nonetheless, taking a moment to look back there are 5 themes – maybe even lessons learned – that hold true:

He asked. She said yes.

Capture the moment. You don’t have to be a huge scrapbooker, a blogger or a sentimental lady to understand the meaning behind this phrase. A phrase thrown around all too often. It is now that I am just beginning to learn the true essence of capturing the moment. This is a once in a life time experience – take your time, enjoy the moment and relax. Easier said than done? Yes.

Life does not revolve around you. Life goes on. Sure, you may think you are at the top of the world – your world. But others’ lives continue on. People pass away, get sick – people change. Life continues on its own course no matter what wedding project you are currently working on.

You cannot please everyone; do what makes you happy. Your opinion does count. And, yes in a perfect world, it is the only one that matters. But – throw in different family dynamics, friends’ experiences and opinions, ‘expert’ opinions and pins galore – thank you Pinterest! You cannot please everyone. There are times for compromising and times for standing your ground. However, it is never one set way.

Flexibility. Being a planner like I am, it is hard for me to grasp the word, flexibility. Then again, with the help of my fiancé, I’ve come to peace with the term. I’m far enough ahead of planning that flexibility lends its benefits to me in a handful of ways. The time our pastor didn’t show up for our meeting? Meh, maybe next week. A particular vendor can’t meet this week, meh, maybe next week will work. I’ve learned – and been grateful enough to be a planner that I am – that flexibility doesn’t mean loosey-goosey whatever floats your boat. No. It means things will happen as they happen.

It’s okay not to crash-diet or hit Bridal bootcamp. It’s a comment that I’ve gotten from probably day 6 of being engaged and one that lingers on and on “oh, you’re on your wedding diet!” One that drives me to hoots. No. I’m not nor have I gone on a wedding diet. Why? I am who I am. Z loves me for me. I have continued my normal routine, actually decreased it as I was coming off training for half marathon late October and then on doctor ordered no work out for nearly 2-months. I didn’t panic. Eating health, doing a few push-ups and staying active – that’s my wedding diet.

The year has come and gone with a blink of an eye. I’m sure these next three months will be no different. What you can do is capture the moment, live one day at a time pleasing yourself while being flexible and not spending hours in the gym. How’s that for a wrap-up!?

Cheers to pearockin’ through the next three months!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

