Can you have your cake & eat it too?

Oh, how does the saying go? You can’t eat your cake and have it too. Typically, it’s said with a negative connotation – per Wikipedia. However, as the glass is half full, there can be a positive spin on it, too.

Many times in the wedding planning process, one cannot have their cake and eat it too. At least this is true in my experience. For others? I say, to each their own. For the Cassidy + Driste wedding, we have a good mix.

Over the few arguments that have arisen amongst the planning, I’ve learned a few things.

Cake is cake.

You can have it and not eat it. You can eat it but not have it. Or, you cannot have it at all. It’s up to you how you want to look at it. I do not need my cake and eat it too on every detail. There’s a time to let go and say, OK. Then there are also times to put the foot down and say, I don’t think so. And, for the odd occasion of letting things fall into place, you take a bite and smile.

Give a little, take a little.

There are things you can get away with and then there are things you cannot. Maybe it is not necessary to have everything you think you want. No. Sometimes, it’s OK to consider another option and… yes, I am about to say this… let the groom make the decision.

While we weren’t planning to have cake provided for everyone in attendance, now we are. Whaa? Okay. Does it matter? No. Is it worth the effort and energy of being upset and fighting over it? Absolutely not. Is it saving me time – a lot of time for that matter – in comparison to my original plan? Heck yes. So, should I thank him now or later?

Later I’m still trying to incorporate my original idea. Why? Not because I want my cake and to eat it, too. No. I just want our wedding to be different than any other. What I realize is that it already is. Our wedding is ours alone, not anyone else’s. It is what we want it to be. If Z wants cake, let him have his cake and I suppose yes, eat it too.

This entry was posted in Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

