DIY Repurposed Chalkboard Signs

20121130-161551.jpg

photo by Eileen K Photography

I had a hard time deciding what to do with the church for my wedding. I didn’t want to spend a ton of money, have floral arrangements or floor items. I did ow ever, want to stick to my theme and not venture off too much. Well, that leaves a very slim window of opportunity.

My lightbulb went off on a trip to Michael’s – before I grew to dislike the craft store. While perusing the clearance section I ran across white/cream tin signs with a beach themed sayings on each. For nearly a buck a buck a piece, I couldn’t pass them up! Little did I know just how much work this inexpensive purchase would bring me.

Luckily, I handed them off to a fabulous Aunty of mine who is a pro at peeling and refinishing pieces. Nothing a little GooGone can’t fix! So with a little elbow grease, the paper signs plastered to the metal disappeared. A little sanding and spray painting later and we had a perfectly blank canvas!

Throw on a couple coats of chalkboard paint, I used Martha Stewart’s simply because it was on sale BOGO at the craft store! Done deal. I brushed it on eyeballing the size of the rectangle since I wanted a bit of an imperfect look. Let dry. Add bow. Smear some chalk on it and wahla!

Next brain stumper was deciding on phrases to write on each. I went a little cliche and wrote love phrases, our date and our names. I ran into a minor problem as it seemed my counting skills were not in prime shape. I was off a bit when we went to set up the church before rehearsal. No worries, we substituted with simple bows to change it up. Crisis averted.

20121130-162101.jpg

photo by Eileen K Photography

Best part about these decorations is I can reuse them and not throw them away or donate them to the Goodwill! I can use them around the house for decoration, gift them as Christmas gifts or save them to rent to others’ who would like to use them for their event.

This entry was posted in Designs by Ash, DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

